The Level 7 Fighter encounter power Come and Get It received a fairly substantial rewrite today. As many of you may know, I think this power needed tweaking. Is what they did enough?
Come and Get It Fighter Attack 7
You call your opponents toward you and deliver a blow they will
Encounter ✦ Martial,Weapon
Standard Action Close burst 3
Target: Each enemy in burst you can see
Effect: Each target must shift 2 and end adjacent to you, if
possible. A target that can’t end adjacent to you doesn’t
move. You can then attack any targets that are adjacent to
you (close burst 1).
Attack: Strength vs. AC
Hit: 1[W] + Strength modifier damage.
This is the original version from publication. It was later clarified with a change to the effect line:
Effect: You pull each target 2 squares to a space adjacent to you. You cannot pull a target that
cannot end adjacent to you. You then make a close attack targeting each adjacent enemy.
My belief is that Come and Get It is far too powerful as an encounter power because it achieves its desired purpose – pulling all the enemies in and marking them – regardless of whether or not the attack roll succeeds. If the Fighter follows it up by action pointing into an area attack, their DPR skyrockets, especially if there’s a Warlord present (or the Fighter is benefiting from any number of damage boosts). Once the characters reach the Paragon tier, they gain access to ways to regain this power (in my campaign, the Fighter could use Come and Get It three times in one encounter).
This is the new version:
Come and Get it Fighter Attack 7
You brandish your weapon and call out to your foes, luring them close through their overconfi-
dence, and then deliver a spinning strike against them all.
Encounter ✦ Martial, Weapon
Standard Action Close burst 3
Target: Each enemy you can see in the burst
Attack: Strength vs. Will
Hit: You pull the target up to 2 squares, but only if it can end the pull adjacent to you. If
the target is adjacent to you after the pull, it takes 1[W] damage.
 I hadn’t realized until I started looking at the ramifications of this change that weapon area attacks do not include the word melee. When you look up the definition of melee attack, you discover the following:
Targeted: Melee attacks target individuals. A melee attack against multiple enemies consists of separate attacks, each with its own attack roll and damage roll. Melee attacks don’t create areas of effect.
Range: A melee attack’s range usually equals your melee reach. (Sometimes a power specifies that it affects only adjacent targets, though, so even if you’re using a reach weapon, you can’t attack more distant targets with that power.)
Reach: Most characters have a reach of 1 square. Certain powers, feats, and weapons can increase your reach. (Emphasis mine)
I don’t know if the inverse (area of effect attacks are not melee) is true, but I imagine that it could be. If it is, it would mean that some of the powers that boost melee damage would not apply. This includes Hellsworn Blessing, which has been something of a bone of contention at my table. Even if it is, however, I don’t think it’s enforceable without a direct statement from WotC saying that this is what they intend. Can you imagine having this particular rules argument? “Yes, I know that the power has the weapon keyword, but because it is an area attack it is not a melee attack.” Yeesh. That’s a snarl I’d sooner avoid, thank you very much. That said, I think the mechanics of Come and Get It make it feel like an attack with a melee component tacked on the end. It would have been much less confusing if they had changed it to damage dice appropriate for the tier (2d6 + Str modifier, for example) and taken off the melee keyword.
 The attack will probably hit more often. Fighters already lead the pack in accuracy. Switching it so the power targets Will just makes it all the better.
 The attack does (slightly) less damage because they removed the Strength modifier damage. Given the increase to accuracy, I don’t think most Fighters will mind.
 Missing will kind of suck because the monster will stay where it is, presumably on an ally, but at least it will be marked.